top of page

80 - Homework-6, Dorian-0

It's a little scary when the days pass by and I don't have time to sit at the piano and work on a song. I'm rehearsing for Holy Week/Easter services at the moment, so my keyboard is constantly being transferred back and forth to churches and basements for rehearsals. I set up my keyboard on the porch yesterday in hopes that I would spend a little bit of time writing at least one of the songs I need to have written before the end of the week.

Out of the 9-12 songs I have left to write, I started 6. By "started," I have at least recorded a simple melody on my iPhone and/or have started a Finale file for the song and transcribed the melody into the notation software. These songs are getting harder and harder to write. New melodies are getting harder to write as old melodies pop into my head (and melodies from other musicals - which is probably the worst!

I realized that I hadn't given James Vane a song yet in the show and so I spent an "standing up" at the keyboard (until after Easter, the music stand is permanently in it's high position for easy travel) trying to finish the big "revenge" song. Well, an hour later, I still had nothing. I got tired of standing...literally tired...and took an hour nap. When I woke up, I did some homework and then heard the call of Dorian Gray...calling me back to my porch (my temporary location until after Easter) - and the only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it. Within 2 hours, I had my revenge! Now, I just need an actor to play James.

To stay on track, I needed 2-3 songs by next Monday. My personal goal was 4-5. I've got 1. I'm hoping my muse will be around the rest of the week! I can do this! I've got 80 days!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page